06
Nov
09

Reason #425 why I rarely shop at Wal Mart

We all know that Wal Mart is the devil, right. Corporate bastards.

Today I went to Wal Mart, using the deals I listed in the Wal Mart gig as well as asking them to price match a few items out of the Kroger ad. No problem. And listen – I go in to every store organized. I know exactly how many of each item I’m buying. I hand them the coupons together, neatly so that they can be rung up easily. There is no need for confusion or for the person behind me in line to get pissed off for me taking too long – unless the cashier is clueless (which is not uncommon at any store).

The issue came at Wal Mart today when they went to ring up my coupons. The cashier as well – as the manager – thought that since they do not double coupons, this meant that they could not ring more than 1 of the same item with a coupon. In other words, if I have 5 of the same item, I can only use 1 coupon. Not so. I know this for a fact. They read the fine print, too. At some point later they decided they could accept one clipped coupon and one internet coupon. The fine print (on all these coupons) read “1 coupon per purchase” which they read to mean 1 per transaction. Again, not so, I assured them.

Taking the coupon policy with me would have done no good since neither one of the people there understand what the verbiage meant. They said the cashier could get wrote up if we do it wrong. I assured them that I’m not trying to screw anyone. I know the rules, I do this several times a week at several stores. They ignored me and the manager treated me like I was trying to pull one over on them.

IT TOOK THEM 50 MINUTES to ring up my transaction. Only 5 of that was to scan and bag my items. THIS WAS THE ONLY REGISTER OPEN besides the self-checkouts.

I was there with my 4-year-old. It was late and we were tired and I will NEVER do it again. Not going back.

2 Responses to “Reason #425 why I rarely shop at Wal Mart”


  1. November. 6. 2009. at 4.52 am

    If you want to know more about the evilness that truly is Wal-Mart, I highly recommend the book, Nickled and Dimed. A writer goes undercover, taking minimum wage jobs to see if she can survive. One section is about working at Wal-Mart.

    Of course, that is only a piece of the evilness. It will explain though why they were so afraid to make a mistake.

  2. November. 6. 2009. at 5.06 am

    Wal Mart’s labor practices (among other things) are deplorable, I know. My mom lasted all of a week working there.

    Aside from disgusting business dealings, they clearly don’t know how to train their staff to deal with a major segment of their customer base.

    I don’t blame the cashier for trying to cover her ass- no one wants to lose their job in this economy. But they lacked very basic knowlege about how to handle the situation- and I don’t blame the cashier necessarily but the supervisor sure as hell should have known the policy.


Leave a Reply

